Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

Against the Grain is your key to the latest news about libraries, publishers, book jobbers, and subscription agents. Our goal is to link publishers, vendors, and librarians by reporting on the issues, literature, and people that impact the world of books and journals.

Against The Grain Journal

Charleston Library Conference

Katina Strauch's "If Rumors Were Horses" column

 

Nov 6, 2017

Welcome to episode 42 of ATG: The Podcast. For readers of Against the Grain, our guest this week will be familiar from her long-time contributions to the “Copyright Questions and Answers” column.

Laura N. “Lolly” Gasaway is the Paul B. Eaton Distinguished Professor of Law Emerita of UNC Chapel Hill. This week, she’s reading her column from the February 2016 issue of Against the Grain, v28 #1. As always, Lolly answers many intriguing questions. Included are questions sent in from an academic librarian, a public librarian, an elementary school teacher and more.

But first, a few announcements. When this podcast is aired on Monday, November 6, it will be the start of the Charleston Conference week! We’re looking forward to seeing all of our attendees, presenters, sponsors, and exhibitors there.

Please check in upon arrival to receive your name badge and attendee materials. Name badges will be required for entry into conference venues, the reception, and conference shuttles. The registration check-in desk will be located in the upper lobby of the Francis Marion Hotel at 387 King Street. Hours are posted on the conference website at the link provided in the show notes.

The 2017 Conference Reception, sponsored by Elsevier, will be held on Wednesday, November 8, from 7:00 – 9:00 pm at the SC Aquarium. Shuttle transportation will be available from the Francis Marion Hotel to the aquarium. The entire aquarium, plus the Shark Shallows touch tank outside on the deck, will be open for attendees to visit. Delicious Lowcountry specialties, like shrimp and grits, as well as more traditional reception fare will be served and beer, wine and soft drinks will be available at the bar. Live musical entertainment will be provided by The Soulfeathers. Side note – the awesome guy on drums is my brother! We’ll also have a photo booth, sponsored by Duke University Press, to take pictures with fun and goofy props.

Conducting a Conference takes a lot of dedication, time, and assistance from a lot of people. It also takes money. The Charleston Conference would like to thank all of our sponsors that made generous contributions: Adam Matthew, American Mathematical Society, Better World Books, Cambridge University Press, Canadian Science Publishing, CHOICE, Clarivate Analytics, Credo Reference, Duke University Press, EBSCO Information Services, Elsevier, Gale, a Cengage Company, HighWire Press, IGI Global, IOP Publishing, MDPI, the OECD, Oxford University Press, ProQuest, Rittenhouse, SAGE Publishing, Springer Nature, the Society for Scholarly Publishing, Taylor & Francis Group, University of Hawaii Press, the Wall Street Journal, and Yewno. Please thank their representatives when you see them!

---------------------------

And now, a few updates to the “If Rumors Were Horses” column from Katina Strauch.

I hope that you have all heard that Leah Hinds has been appointed Executive Director of the Charleston Conference! Leah is tireless and deserves all the recognition we can give her! Look at all the new initiatives that have begun with ATG and ATG media!

Speaking of which there was a free webinar on Wednesday -- Charleston Library Conference Tips and Tricks for Attending. Heather Staines and Leah organized it and many of the Charleston Conference regulars will be on the webinar. Here is a link to it for your use! It will be available on the Conference website as of Thursday November 2.

https://www.charlestonlibraryconference.com/video/webinars

See the Charleston Conference November print issue (v.29#5, p.85) of ATG for a picture of the awesome (we used to call him “the nemesis” in earlier ATGs) Chuck Hamaker who has retired from UNC-Charlotte. Chuck is pictured with his Emeritus certificate from UNC-C. What a career Chuck has had. He will be presenting at the Charlotte Initiative Symposium on Monday afternoon.

2017charlestonconference.sched.org/

If you haven’t encountered Carol Apollo you need to! Carol and Leah met when they were neighbors in Gilbert, SC. Carol is a Social Media Manager and Strategist who believes that a good social media campaign has the power to change the world. She has worked mostly with non-profit and volunteer organizations to optimize their Internet presence and engage their audience and has been working with Against the Grain Media for the past 6 months. Carol’s podcast on social media for libraries is available on the ATG newschannel. Carol has moved back up north but she will be in Charleston helping with the podcast at the Conference in the Gaillard Center lobby - recording takeaways and comments from attendees. She will also be helping with the Speed networking during the poster sessions at the Conference

http://atgthepodcast.libsyn.com/podcast/atgthepodcast-039-libraries-and-social-media-with-carol-apollo

Speaking of the Poster sessions, Tom Gilson has worked diligently with Jesse Lamarre of Morressier Gmbh in Berlin. Thank also to Sven Fund for hooking us up with Morressier and to John Williams who has worked with Tom and Jesse to make the virtual posters a reality. Hope that you all like them! There will be 37 Virtual posters in Charleston this year! jesse.lamarre@morressier.com

www.morressier.com

Fast Pitch finalists have been selected and we're in the process of coaching. Be sure to come and vote for our favorite at the session on Wed 11/8 at 4:40 PM. 

Glenda Alvin is introducing Loretta Parham, one of our keynote speakers at the Conference. Glanda was reminiscing about African American Librarians attending the Conference. Many of them have retired and we are searching for more to take up the mantle! Be sure and meet Aaisha Haykal, manager of archives at the Avery Center for Research in African American History, who is attending this year!

We told you in the print November ATG that Franny Lee is now VP of Product Development at Chegg, a publicly-traded company with a learning platform and product lines that include textbook rental, tutoring services, test pre, etc. Tom Gilson had a Penthouse Interview scheduled with Franny during the Charleston Conference but we have just learned that Franny is not able to come to Charleston because of a medical procedure.

www.chegg.com/

I was poking around the ATG newschannel and learned that Napoleon was a bibliophile! He traveled with a library of miniature books and was a voracious reader. This was John Riley’s ATG Quirky ATG Quirkies: Napoleon’s Kindle on October 25. I seem to remember that Elisabeth Chapman was a collector of miniature books. Liz is retired but I’ll bet she is still collecting miniature books!

Returning to John Riley! He will NOT be in Charleston this year because he is running for political office! Mayor of Northampton! That's the good news. The bad news is that he will have to miss his first Charleston Conference in 32 years! With the election being held on November 7 he just can't break away on time.

Speaking of the 37th Charleston Conference! I am looking forward to it! I am not the spring chicken that I once was so I am having trouble getting around! BUT I WANT very much to meet all of you so please come up and interrupt me and let’s talk!

Thanks and much love always, Katina Yr Ed.